Baking Tip – Silpats!! (and sweet potato chips!)

sweet potato chips!

Best invention ever!!!!  Okay, that might be a SLIGHT exaggeration, but I’m not sure…. because I LOVE MY SILPATS!!  I am so happy that I read about them when I was learning how to make sweet potato chips in the oven.   Before I found out about silpats, I was using parchment paper.

Now, that I have silpats, making my homemade potato chips is so much easier. I also use them for pretty much all my baking needs.  NOTHING sticks to the things! they are great!

Homemade Sweet Potato chips

1 potato or sweet potato
a little olive oil in a bowl or sprayer (if you have one)
mandolin slicer

cut up your potato with your mandolin slicer.  get them as thin as possible.  put them on your silpat-lined baking sheet.  spray or brush olive oil on them and then put some salt on them.  bake at 300 for about 20-30 minutes.

Keep a close eye on them, since they can burn quickly!

this is how thin I do mine

 

all laid out on the silpat

these are magic, they will disappear in 2 minutes or less! 🙂

Leave a Reply

