How to make your own almond flour – tutorial

fresh ground almond flour

Since I use almond flour in a lot of my recipes, I thought I would share with you all exactly how I make it. I’ve had questions from some readers asking me about that… and it’s really quite easy. A little time intensive, but very easy steps.

Almond flour is very low carb. It has good fat and protein in it, as well as fiber. It has a really rich flavor, and it fills me up! I also LOVE the taste of almonds, so that is probably another reason why I love it!

Homemade Almond Flour (Almond Meal)

Step 1:
Soak the almonds overnight in water. This helps them release their phytic acid that inhibits the absorption of nutrients.

Step 2:
After you soak them overnight, then you dry them back out. You can do it on a low temp (like 200) in the oven, or you can just put them on your dehydrator if you have one.

Step 3:
Test to see if they are dry. I like to bite into one and see if its dry all the way through.

Step 4:
Let them cool off a bit. You don’t want to grind up hot almonds! πŸ™‚

Step 5:
Put them in a blender or a food processor and blend!!! Be careful not to over blend though, you don’t want to turn it into almond butter.


ready to be ground up

getting ground up

almost done!

all ground up!

sidenote:
Some people like to blanch the almonds first (meaning – boil, then take off the skins), but I enjoy the added health benefits that the skin brings… namely, the added fiber. So, I leave the skins on and my recipes still turn out great!

Now, go and have fun experimenting with recipes and making yummy goodies at a fraction of the cost!! πŸ™‚

 

 

 

 

fresh ground almond flour

Leave a Reply

