Coconut Flour Cupcakes

 

coconut flour cupcake.. mmm

Wow, I had quite the weekend – a lot of baking! We had my son’s first birthday party on Saturday and I wanted to experiment with a few recipes.

The first recipe that I experimented with is this one. Her blog is based on cooking sweets for diabetics though (she uses a sweetener called erythritol), so I did change a few things.  Here is the recipe as I made it.  (it made 18 cupcakes)

Coconut Flour Cupcakes
9 eggs
3/4 c. coconut oil ( I would make it more like a 1/2c. if I did it again)
1 1/2 c. milk
1 1/2 t. vanilla
1/2 c. honey
3/4 c. coconut flour
1 1/2 t. baking powder
3/4 t. salt

mix the eggs up first til smooth, then mix in the rest of the ingredients.
cook at 350 for 20-25 minutes.

The batter looked REALLY runny… like too runny. I was worried that these were going to be a flop. They came together though, that coconut flour really soaks the liquids up! My only complaint is how they seemed really greasy right out of the oven… I feel like they had too much coconut oil in them. I would cut down the oil if I make this recipe again.

When I first got them out of the oven, I tried out a couple (sugar addict, remember?) They were good, but tasted fairly egg-y, kind of like a breakfast egg muffin or something. I was worried that they wouldn’t be that good and I had another recipe I wanted to try out.

This is the recipe from Nourished Kitchen that I tried out next. I cut the recipe down to make a super small batch ( it made 6 cupcakes). Here is the recipe as I made it.

Coconut Flour Cake (cupcakes) – from Nourished Kitchen
3 eggs
1/2 c. milk ( I didn’t have any coconut milk)
1/4 c. honey
1/2 t. vanilla
1/2 c. coconut flour
1/8 t. baking soda
pinch of salt

mix eggs, then mix in the rest. bake at 350 for 20-25 minutes.

This batter was more dense and thick. Naturally, that affected the end result and these cupcakes were more dense. I didn’t like the texture of these ones as much. I guess it was good that this was my small batch.

The frosting I used was the one from the Dream About Food blog, with a few changes as usual.

Chocolate Buttercream Frosting:
2/3 cup whipping cream
4 oz cream cheese, softened
4 tbsp butter, softened
4 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
2 oz dark chocolate chips, melted (these are my favorite kind)

whip the cream until it starts looking fluffy, then add the rest of the ingredients one at a time.

I liked them, as you can see!

I didn’t tell anyone at the party that the cupcakes were “different”, but most everyone noticed and commented. It didn’t stop anyone from eating them though, and my baby gobbled his up!! I would recommend the first batch and I liked them best cold, straight from the fridge!

2 responses

  1. I have zero interest in cooking healthier, but those cupcakes do look good! I might steal the frosting recipe though.

    Did you really use 9 eggs in your cupcakes?? or was that just a typo?

Leave a Reply

