Homemade Date Sugar – FAIL!

self portrait. lol

Experimenting with recipes and different ingredients is kind of like being a mad scientist. Sometimes, you make something great! Other times, it really just FAILS!!

As I have been researching alternative sugars and healthier options, I came across Date Sugar. I haven’t been able to find it in any stores around here and it is VERY expensive to buy online. I decided to put on my mad scientist hat and try to make my own at home. How hard could it be, right??

I found a couple different tutorials online. Basically, you lay out the dates on a baking sheet and cook them at a lower temperature to dry them out. The first batch of dates I tried got burnt and were too hard to run through a food processor.

The next batch of dates I got just about right, or so I thought. I let them cool and then tried running them in the food processor. They kept jamming up the blades and getting stuck! They were still sticky even though they were crusty and dried out!

I then tried to freeze them and put them in the processor. FAIL again! I had another idea (I really wanted to make this work, can you tell?), put them in the dehydrator for a while, that way they wont get burnt. I left them in the dehydrator for 24 hrs and it’s like they were invincible. They could not be dried out any further.

So, here we are today and they are sitting in a bowl on my kitchen counter mocking me. Stupid Dates.

stubborn dates

I hate to be mocked, especially by those ugly little buggers. So, I would LOVE to just grind them up and teach them a lesson. haha!

6 responses

  1. Interesting. I would have thought dehydration wold work too. Remove the liquid and you should be left with the sugars, makes sense to me. Have you tried caramelizing them to coax the sugars to the surface?

  2. I am trying to do this as we speak. I bought and pitted the dates and then baked them at 200 degrees for a long while. I will run them through the blendtec in a bit and let you know.

Leave a Reply

